What are the Requirements to Travel to Europe with a Schengen Visa?

If you intend to visit any of the nations within the Schengen Area, you might not require a visa if you are a citizen of that nation. As of right now, citizens of 63 different countries fit this description.

Even though citizens of these nations do not require a Schengen visa, they nevertheless need to fulfill specific requirements. They are as follows:

  • The passport must remain valid for at least three months after the date of the Schengen Area exit. It is also required that the passport be issued within the last ten years.
  • Citizens must have enough money for both their visit and their return trip.
  • Indicate your purpose for traveling and attach supporting documentation.
  • Not turned away from entry or deemed a danger to any Schengen nation
  • A 90-day maximum stay is allowed within the Schengen Area during 180 days.

Countries Where Visa Is Required

You must apply for a Schengen visa by submitting an application along with the necessary paperwork and showing up for an interview at your local application center if you are not a citizen of any of the aforementioned nations.

To enter the Schengen Area, citizens of the following nations require a visa.

BhutanBoliviaBotswanaBurkina FasoBurma/Myamar
BurundiCambodiaCameroonCape VerdeCentral African Republic
ChadChinaComorosCongoCote D’Ivoire
CubaDemocratic Republic of CongoDjiboutiDominican RepublicEcuador
EgyptEquatorial GuineaEritreaEswatiniEthiopia
NigeriaNorth KoreaOmanPakistanPapua New Guinea
PhilippinesQatarRussiaRwandaSao Tome and Principe
Saudi ArabiaSenegalSierra LeoneSomaliaSouth Africa
South SudanSri LankaSudanSurinameSyria

Citizens Who Need a Transit Visa for Airports

Generally speaking, a visa is not required if you are entering a country but plan to stay in the international zone and catch a connecting flight at any airport in a Schengen country. Even yet, some nationalities will still require an airport transit visa to enter the country. The following nationals are covered by this:

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ghana, Ethiopia, Ghanaian Republic of the Congo, Eritrea, Iran, Iraq, Nigeria, Pakistan, Somalia, and Sri Lanka
Furthermore, certain Schengen nations require an airport transit visa, but not all of them do.

  • Austria: Syria
  • Belgium: Dominican Republic, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Nepal, Palestine, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Turkey, Yemen
  • Cyprus: Turkey
  • Czech Republic: Algeria, Armenia, Chad, Cuba, Egypt, India, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Palestine, Russia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Turkey, Yemen
  • Denmark: Syria
  • France: Angola, Bolivia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Guinea, Haiti, India, Ivory Coast, Mali, Mauritania, Nepal, Philippines, Russia (only if arriving from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Egypt, Georgia, Moldova, Turkey or Ukraine), Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Turkey
  • Germany: Cuba, India, Jordan (except if traveling to or from Australia, Israel, or New Zealand, with a valid visa for that country), Lebanon, Mali, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Turkey
  • Greece: Cameroon, Congo, Sudan, Syria
  • Italy: Senegal, Syria
  • Netherlands: Cuba, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Nepal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Turkey, Yemen
  • Norway: Syria, Turkey
  • Poland: Armenia, Cuba, Egypt
  • Portugal: Guinea, Senegal
  • Romania: Syria
  • Spain: Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Congo, Cuba, Djibouti, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti (only with passports issued from 1 September 2021), India, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Palestine, Sierra Leone, Syria, Tajikistan, Togo, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Yemen
  • Switzerland: Cuba, Syria, Turkey
  • Bulgaria, Croatia, Estonia, Finland, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden: no additional nationalities beyond the common ATV list
  • Liechtenstein: no airports

Leave a Comment